Show reviews that mention
photos pictures business customer service customer website service order prints card
Filter review

Winkflash lying and cheating customers out of their pictures

1.0
Details
Winkflash's new owners claimed for months that they had all our photos, but they were transferring them over to the new website. After inquiring multiple times, I was assured they were still there. Then suddenly? I received an email claiming that they were so sorry, but despite saving hundreds of thousands of photos, some were lost, and they no longer have access to the servers. How do you purchase a company and then lose the servers? Data doesn't simply disappear, it can be recovered. Only it costs time and money, clearly something Winkflash isn't interested in investing in. How do you screw over thousands of customers who relied on your services without warning about backing up their photos, etc.? Do the right thing Winkflash. Get our pictures back.
View full review
ID
#634374 Review #634374 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
California, United States
Cons
  • Lying about missing photos
  • Lying about no server access
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Online Photo Storage Review

I used to log in with a user name and password. Now it's asking me for my email address instead with my password and I can't get to my pictures. What happened??
View full review
ID
#618461 Review #618461 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Leesburg, Florida
Reason of review
Order processing issue
Winkflash lost 10 years of photos of my children, vacations, friends and family who have passed away. They cannot be replaced. There was no word from the previous owners that they were closing. They should have given all of us time to download our pictures so that they...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#1007693

Same thing here. So hurt and saddened.

These are memories of many lives now gone. Cherished memories.

Class Action Lawsuit?? I would be interested

View more comments
ID
#615158 Review #615158 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Campton, New Hampshire
Cons
  • Disappearance of my photos
  • No warning
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Old customer - but I still have hope

3.3
Details
I do believe that winkflash has good equipment and Quality Assurance, as their cards and books were always first class. I too am waiting for my photos to be back up on the site......and I have hope that we can return to the old wonderful standards that made me such a good customer month after month and year after year. Let's have hope that the new owners get beyond their overwhelmed stage and return to those wonderful winkflash boxes that I loved to see in my mail! Hope springs eternal and I pray we will not be disappointed! I loved their flat rate book sales....where you could get 100 photos in a book for $19. I don't think anyone else in the business would do 100 8x10s for $19. And the books were wonderful. But the 5x7 card stock used - and the quality of their printing was what kept me coming back month after month.....they were great, and hopefully will be once again.
View full review
ID
#602946 Review #602946 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Easley, South Carolina
Pros
  • Old site
  • Quality - flat rate photo books
Cons
  • Disappearance of my photos
Reason of review
Good quality

They do not email or try to resolve issues

I have folders with no photos in them i have emailed several times now i can not even sign in it just times out i need my photos. I keep emailing them and they respond with we are putting it in a special que which does me no good because they still are not there they do not email back and when they do it is nothing to resolve the issue i have been with this company for years spent a lot of money and will never do business again i just want my photos to print then i am done with them*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#970556

I have been emailing them since December, 2014. The only response I have gotten is that they are in the process of transferring my photos to my acct.

FOR 5 MONTHS??? I am truly a pissed consumer.

ID
#589927 Review #589927 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$100
I unsuccessfully tried to log in to my account today when Winkflash customer service brought up to my attention that the site was transferred to a new platform. Old projects were not available anymore. No prior notice about upcoming changes was issued to the...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1309421

I also lost years of photos. I always suggested to folks to upload your photos so that they would always be safe there just in case something happens to the originals.

Ha! Poor advice.

Also, Winkflash did not offer any credits (which wouldn't bring back the pics I lost) to appease my anger and prevent the loss of a consumer.

Just an FYI, you've lost is a person who, as of May, has over 11,000+ pictures uploaded into Snapfish, not to mention how ever many there are on Shutterfly. All of those could've have been uploaded to your company.

Sa la vie.

View more comments
ID
#578627 Review #578627 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tula, Tula
Product
Winkflash Account
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
1.0
Details
Update by user Mar 30, 2015

So the management of the new company finally came clean and admitted my pictures are gone forever! For those wishing to be included in an attempt to hold this company liable, please friend me on Facebook or LinkedIn, then send me your full contact information to...

View full review
39 comments
Alfonzia
#1790881

They lost over 10,000 photos of mine and years of memories. If they took over or bought from previous owner why did they not care to let us account holders know and keep the past memories safe?

Any money cannot replace lost memories.

Marriage, birth of babies etc...I am so devastated. It's like a bad dream.

View more comments
ID
#569765 Review #569765 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Pros
  • Old site and experience
Cons
  • Smoke and mirrors
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Is Winkflash out of business again 12-10-14?

Winkflash has not replied to my email from 5 days ago, nor the second one I sent yesterday. Their automated response says that they will reply in 48 hours, Monday through Friday. My order placed on Nov. 22 has not shipped. Their website says it is in production. There is no phone number on their website. The only option is to email them. My credit card has been charged. I had the same problem with them back in August. Finally I gave up and had the pictures printed elsewhere. Supposedly they were back in business recently. Is Winkflash out of business again?
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#914222

I have received an order from them recently, they seem to be back. Maybe they are just slow to respond because it is the Holidays?

Everyone is a bit busier this time of year. I'm going to continue to use Winkflash.

ID
#568182 Review #568182 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
Will never again patronize Winkflash
We used to order prints from @Winkflash. #NeverAgain. They defaced a pic of my daughter months ago & won't even respond to emails requesting a reprint. If reports are true they are now out of business, I am not surprised. Their lack of respect for their customers...
View full review
4 comments
Donnamarie
#916719

Man thats plain sick for someone to deliberately deface a photo of someones child like that.

View more comments
ID
#547262 Review #547262 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Getting my pictures back

I have several family pictures saved on Winkflash. How do I get them back now that you Winkflash is out of business. Please let me know I am sorry that you Winkflash is out of business, I do not understand why. I sure did enjoy the business and ordered several pictures from you. Lots of these pictures are from my family and kids from a very young age. I am willing to pay to get those pictures back. So please make contact with me. I do not have a problem paying for the pictures to come via a CD garciajl88@***.com Jackie Garcia
View full review
7 comments
Anonymous
#904781

Winkflash is saying that my email doesn't exist in their database. Has anyone else had this problem? I can't even get in there to get to my pictures.

Anonymous
#909821
@PissedConsumer904781

me too, jbiss10. I emailed yesterday and still waiting for a response.

Anonymous
#896199

I have been emailing my pictures to myself to save what I don't have copies of. I am pretty disappointed in this closing and lack of communication.

Anonymous
#893264

This will be a slow process, but you can save the photos from your albums by clicking on the "Save full size" option to the right of the photos as you view them. I have thousands of photos on the site and am currently saving back to my computer.

Anonymous
#891318

I am having success e-mailing myself the pictures. Log into your account, select a folder, click the pictures you want e-mailed (or hit select all), then on the left hand side click photo options then e-mail photos.

I just started doing mine and some of the larger ones are taking awhile to arrive but so far so good. Good luck :)

Anonymous
#893267
@PissedConsumer891318

I am going to try your process and see if it is faster than downloading.

Anonymous
#893309
@PissedConsumer891318

I tried your suggestions and did get an entire folder back, but even choosing the full size option the photos come back at 1 to 2 % of the original sizes I saved. This is great if you only want to have copies of the photos, but you will lose quite a bit of detail.

If you are planning to print or enlarge your photos I would recommend using the download option.

View more comments (6)
ID
#546887 Review #546887 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kenai, Alaska
Reason of review
No contact made by WinkFlash
Preferred solution
Please make contact with me so I can get my pictures back via a CD

Prints Review

I recently ordered a few prints and for the past 3 weeks the status of the order is printing.. I sent them a email but no responce
View full review
ID
#538430 Review #538430 is a subjective opinion of poster.
5.0
Details
Winkflash has gone out of business. According to a member on a forum, "Apparently, the building and parking lot are deserted and no one knows what happened." (http://2peasrefugees.boards.net/thread/7394/wow-winkflash-more) Here is a local news story about it, and they...
View full review
6 comments
Alfonzia
#1790884

if they did so much harm. Why are you giving them 5 stars?

View more comments
ID
#534112 Review #534112 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Seaside, Oregon
Reason of review
Good quality

Horrible Customer Service

I made an order on 08.22.14 but my order status has been "printing" for the last three weeks. I called to cancel order as I had to go with another company to meet my deadline, but a busy signal is all I've been getting, no matter what time of day I call. How odd that they are not answering their calls. I'm perplexed. This has never happened to me before, but one time is enough for me not to trust them again. I've sent countless emails without results. I am so disappointed and frustrated. Even more upset that they have no explanation on their website as to what is going on.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#881245

I have been on hold today for almost 4 hours, guessing after reading this I should hang up... :(

:(

Anonymous
#866409

I was on hold for over 6 hours and was disconnected. I'm calling my credit card company and stopping charge.

Had two huge orders on 8/20 and 21.

Spoke to them and they were very nice and helpful. God knows what happened over there, but they took the money and ran!

View more comments (1)
ID
#530178 Review #530178 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Roma, Texas
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Full refund

Can't Reach Winkflash

3.5
Details
I submitted an order on 8/21/14. I received an order number and my MasterCard was charged for the cost of the prints on 8/23/14. On 8/28/14 I emailed customer service because the status of my order was still "printing". No response. I tried calling them on 8/29/14. I got a busy signal all day long. I tried again on 9/2/14 and was caller number 8 for 1/2 hour. I tried again later in the day and moved from caller number 12 to caller number 7 in 2 hours. I finally got fiscouraged and hung up. If I get no response by the end of the week I will ask MasterCard to dispute the charge. I've sent many orders through in the past without a problem. They offered a reasonable way to develop your prints. Hope they're not bankrupt.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#868583

Website NOW says they stopped taking orders effective 8/25. also says if you were charged but your order didn't ship they are getting the refunds made.

So sad. I guess their prices were tooooo low :( Hope you didn't lose a ton of work, I know I did!!

ID
#529012 Review #529012 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Anderson, California
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$15
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
1.0
Details
I have been on hold with Winkflash now for over 6 hours, and have been next in line for over two hours. We completed two very long detailed photo books with lots of narrative, tried to purchase them, got a price, but could not get a link to insert credit card number...
View full review
37 comments
Anonymous
#1621157

Respond if you are interested in a low suit action the more the flashier

View more comments
ID
#527419 Review #527419 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution